“When I was diagnosed with pleural TB six months ago, the first thought that popped into my head was, “Why me? I have done nothing wrong, what did I do to deserve this?” I had completed my engineering and was to be married in a few months. Several things worried me – would my fiancé accept that I had TB? It seemed better to just call it off. When the social worker told me that I had TB, I just broke down and cried for several hours, I couldn’t stop myself. I stayed depressed for days and seriously thought of calling off my impending wedding, but my mother helped me through that. And after being counselled by the social worker (Chithra ma`am) and speaking to several other TB patients, I was re-assured and began to take things in my stride – TB was curable, after all.

Today, I am in the sixth month of medication and feeling much better. All this while I have kept my condition a secret from everyone at home, including my husband. But today, I plan on telling him. I’m nervous, but I will tell him.”

–         Srija* (patient’s named changed)

